Latest News from Time Attack

Time Attack – Round 5
Pirelli European Drift Championship – Round 5
Modified Live – End of Year Finale

It’s the final countdown for the last round of this year’s Time Attack Series and Pirelli European Drift Championship, both taking place on Sunday 10th October at Snetterton Circuit in Norfolk. The event also hosts the UK’s number-one tuning roadshow, Modified Live, which again features its hugely popular and spectacular blend of static displays, trade stands, car clubs – and more!

As far as Time Attack is concerned things couldn’t be closer, with all seven classes still undecided. After two wins a-piece this season – and just two points separating them at the top of the table – Gareth Lloyd and Steve Guglielmi will be going head-to-head for the Pro-Class title.

However, where Gugelimi’s nimble Lotus Exige shone at the tighter and more technical tracks of Brands Hatch Indy and Cadwell Park in rounds three and four, the long straights and sweeping corners of Snetterton may better suit the power and four-wheel-drive of Lloyd’s Mitsubishi Evolution. Either way, it’s going to make compelling viewing.

But, with the nature of the track at Snetterton completely different to that of any other visited by the series this year, the weekend may well produce a new winner. Therefore, other drivers to look out for will be James Nicholls in his Evo VI and Gavin Renshaw in his Subaru Impreza.

As well as in the Pro-Class, there will be fiercely fought battles amongst the other categories: Club-Pro 4×4 is likely to see Kevin Horsley and Andy Harvey in their shared Impreza GC8 up against the similar car of Paul Doyle, with the Club-Pro RWD class destined to provide a contest between Jamie Wilson (Lotus Exige) and Steve Linton and Paul Wiffin (Toyota Supras).

The title for the Club Challenge 4×4 class will be fought out between Scott Robinson (Impreza GC8) and Fiona Kindress (Nissan GT-R R32), whilst in the FWD category, Bo Nielsen (Astra VXR) is all but home and dry, having amassed enough points to claim a healthy lead in the previous rounds. It will be either Matt Webb (Mazda RX7) or Ronnie Amis (Sierra Cosworth) who claim the title for the RWD Club Challenge class whilst, in the normally aspirated (non-turbo) category, the contest will be between Mark Pollard (Metro 6R4) and Daniel Gannon (BMW M3).

It’s also all to play for in the Pirelli European Drift Championship, with Mark Luney in his Nissan 350Z out to finish the season as he started it with another win to add to his rounds one and two victories. However, with Pete Barber in his Mazda RX7 and Paul Conlan in the Sumo Power Nissan S15 coming into form in rounds three and four respectively, there’s no predicting who’s going to win at Snetterton and take the 2010 Champion’s crown.

And, as if the Time Attack and the EDC cars were not enough to keep everyone entertained, there will be more track action between the competitive sessions, with the appearance of one of the awesome Sumo Power GT Nissan GT-Rs that are currently competing in the FIA GT1 World Championship. Driven on Sunday by Warren Hughes and Peter Dumbreck, the car will be making its final track appearance before heading off to Spain, Brazil and then Argentina for rounds eight, nine and ten of the Global GT series.

Rallying will also be represented this weekend, with Welsh legend Gwyndaf Evans demonstrating one of JRM’s impressive Group N Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution Xs, fresh from winning the Teams’ title in this year’s British Rally Championship.

At lunch time, in what is being branded as the ‘Sumo Power Parade’, The GT1 Nissan race car and the Mitsubishi Evo X rally car will be joined by the company’s road-going 700bhp Nissan GT-R R35, its 360bhp and 400bhp Evo X track-day cars, the Sumo Power Nissan S15 drift car and a standard GT-R owned by Time Attack boss Andy Barnes. This impressive collection of machinery will all take to the track at the same time, with spectators given the opportunity to see which is best through the corners and fastest down the straights!

Adding to the spectacle – and going on all day – will be the End of Year Finale Modified Live Show. With static displays, trade stands, the ever-popular ‘Show n’ Shine’ competition, plus Drift Taxis and a host of automotive-based attractions on site, this element of the weekend is always as popular with the crowds as the action on the track.

Gates open at 9.00, with a warm-up session for the Time Attack teams starting getting underway first thing. The Drift cars have their initial practice session at 10.00, with the first of three live action demos taking place at 10.30. Time Attack qualifying is scheduled to start at 2.00pm, with the finals for the Pirelli European Drift Championship 3.15 and Time Attack at 4.15pm.

Admission tickets are available on the gate, priced at £15.00 per adult on-line and £20.00 at the gate.

For more information visit:

Time Attack is sponsored by: Sumo Power, Kleers, Pirelli, Cosworth, K-Sport, SuperPro, Toyo Tires, BC Suspension,, HKS, HEL Performance, Samco Sport, Blitz and Santa Pod Raceway.

2010 Time Attack Calendar
24 April: Oulton Park
16 May: Knockhill
27 June: Brands Hatch
1 August: Cadwell Park
10 October: Snetterton

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *